Generating Ideas

I think coming up with ideas is one of the most taxing aspects of producing art. Sometimes the ideas just come together in the act of playing around with elements and even just enjoying the process. In the case of this digital work, I first scanned a sketch I had done at the Melbourne Museum in the room full of the taxidermic animals of a duck. In the course we’ve learnt a lot of helpful things about scanning that I didn’t know previously, even though I’ve had a lot to do with scanning via work in the past. Some of the tips that mattered here were simple – scanning at an appropriate resolution for the size of the image to be created (or scan at a higher resolution and save appropriately re-sized versions). I also learnt about descreening, which I didn’t need to do in the case of scanning my own drawing, as only published matter needs to be descreened.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

