That age-old battle of the fur-balls

Tabby cat sitting

“Your cat is such a snob. She totes hates me.”

“She’s not a snob, she’s just picky, like all the best people.”

“Hel-loo, she’s not ‘people’ – she’s a fur ball who’s shedding on the best chair!”

“What can I say, Sis, Peony has good taste.”

“Who calls a cat such a sucky name? No wonders she’s stuck up.”

“Well I’d rather a discriminating beast than a floozy critter that throws itself all over anyone on two legs – or four for that matter.”

“Watch it, Bro, are you insulting my Snoopy?”

“Face facts, that dog has about as much discrimination as the carpet.”

“It’s okay Snoopy-woopy, don’t listen to what he’s saying.”

“Baby talk? Now you’ve really lost it.”

“Snoopy’s so social, if you don’t talk to him he gets depressed.”

“Mmm, not sure how you can tell that, seeing as how you talk to him ALL THE TIME! I think it’s your drivel depressing him. ”

“You wouldn’t understand, we’re positive types, you and that fleabag are the sad sacks.”

“Peony isn’t sad. We’re introverts, we crave alone time. Away from the babble of little sisters and their yappy pooches.”

“Oh my gosh, totes just get over it. You’re just jealous because everyone likes my dog better than your cat.”

“That is not true, and I wouldn’t respect the opinion of anyone who favoured Dopey McDog over quiet feline intelligence. Emphasis on QUIET.”

“You are soooo jealous! Probably because that lump of furry lard never does anything. What is the point of a pet that’s sooo boring?”

“A few moments in the exhalted company of a cat is worth a thousand years with a dribbley dog. No wonder the Egyptians worshipped cats.”

“Well dog’s are human’s best friends. So there.”

“Oh grow up.”

“You grow up! HEY Snoopy – what are you doing over there? You don’t want to curl up with that stuck up kitty!”

“Apparently he does, Sis.”

[Contented canine snores and feline purrs.]

2 Comments

Filed under A humorous life

2 responses to “That age-old battle of the fur-balls

  1. Boy do I wish I’d run with something like this. An easy subject matter make it easier to focus on the dialogue itself!
    I like how you’ve emphasised the sibling rivalry through the traits of their pets. It’s a serious power struggle!
    I didn’t notice your lack of tags until I read back through for a second time. Shows how necessary they are/aren’t. Nice job!

    • Thanks @Christoph_Orr 🙂 It was the first set of opposing points of view that came to my mind – although I was sure others would cover this same tension. I decided to do away with description for this one and just try the dialogue.

Leave a Reply

